Legal age of consenting facts

To protect innocent youth, different countries in the world have different laws regarding the legal age of consent. This can be for sex or for marriage, among other things. In the United States, states impose various legal age of consent according to their laws. Penalties for violating age consent laws can be quite severe in all states.

Although states are responsible for their own legal consent ages, the US government has several laws regarding the treatment of minors. For example, the transport of minors for sexual acts through national or national borders is illegal and is punishable by the national legislation.

Although many people think that the 18 years are "legal", the states can establish their age of consent between the ages of 16 and 18. The states that include Alabama, Michigan, Nevada and New Jersey are 16 years old and over. States like Colorado, Louisiana and Texas established their age at age 17, and Arizona, Delaware and Tennessee claim that a person must be 18 years old to consent.

After setting the legal age of the content, states have the option to create different levels of sexual offenses. For example, Alabama divides sex with a person below the legal age of consent:

  • Second-degree sexual abuse if a person at least 19 years of age has sexual contact with someone between 12 and 16 years of age
  • Second degree violation if a person of at least 16 years of age has sex with someone between 12 and 16 years, but the author is at least 2 years older than the minor
  • Second degree sodomy if a person who is at least 16 years old participates in this type of sexual intercourse with someone between 12 and 16 years old

For the marriage, the states can also establish laws so that the people who have less age of consent must have their parents & # 39; Permission to Marry Most states require that potential spouses be at least 18, but some have a higher minimum age.

If you are accused of having sex with a minor, this can have a permanent negative impact on your life. You may be required to be registered as a sex offender, and you will have to follow certain restrictions to live. If you have been accused of sexual offenses, you should contact Massachusetts sex offender lawyers on the James Powderly website today.



Source by David S Caldwell